My Dyslexic Brain

brainOkay the things I think about are sort of the same as every one else and I know there’s more in there that I’ve put on and it also isn’t where everything would actually be but my point is there.

I don’t think many people realise how hard it is for me to focus on one particular thing. This isn’t a oh poor me post, it’s a hopefully explain and have a bit more understanding post.

Allot of my train of thought is on my books. I manage to change everything that happens into my life into a story, into characters and a plot, sometimes it helps me understand the things that’s happened more if I put them into a book format or put them with my own characters.

I’ve also found, in College if my tutor says we’re doing research, I hate it, it doesn’t keep my attention and I get bored with it very quickly but if ever I need to do research for my stories I  am completely transfixed by what I’m researching and sometimes do so much that I forget to actually continue with my story.

I find it insanely difficult to recount most things I’ve learnt at school but I find it really easy to remember my timetables (lessons)  through from Year Seven to my current year at college. I can’t recite timetables (maths) but given a few minutes I can come with up with the answer (whether it’s correct is a different matter).

I have a lot of general knowledge, stupid little things like information about stuff that happened on the Set of Harry Potter or random knowledge about Doctor Who, a lot of the knowledge I have however will probably not  help me in life.

I could never go to University, my brain won’t let me, I’d find it far to difficult, sitting at a desk and listening to lectures I just wouldn’t be capable of it and I could never drop out of a course, I’d instantly regret it even if I hated what I was doing.

I find it difficult to remember very simple instructions but can remember song lyrics, stage directions, complete scripts, dances without hesitation.

Basically, my dyslexic brain is rather strange but it always gets me there, I know a few people who are dyslexic and know that all our brains function differently but this is how mine functions which I find reasonably intriguing.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Dyslexic Brain

  1. Hey, I never thought I’d make it to university when I dropped out of high school and college, but I am now in my final year of undergrad. I have a dictaphone which records lectures for me so when I start losing my concentration, it’s still recording so I can go back an listen to it.

Leave a Reply

