I have a fascination with…

Love Locks!

GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

 Like I know what they are and I know what they stand for what fascinates me is that they just began appearing.

 Love Locks originate from Europe and started appearing in the year 2000. I first heard about them in France on a bridge called Pont de l’Archevêché which passed over the Seine river in Paris. I liked the idea of them when I heard of them back in 2009 on that bus tour then I came home (Liverpool, UK).

As many of you probably know we have our quite famous Dock. The Albert Dock and around last year I began to notice Locks appearing around the dock and I find them completely fascinating. There is a DSC_1050variety of locks, ones that are for couples, one for marriages, families and a few for remembrance, there’s some locks that you can tell people have spent a substantial amount of money on them, there’s engraved locks, there’s a few that have been wrote on with sharpie, there’s an industrial lock down there, a few have even purchased the official Love Lock (a lock in the shape of a heart – as shown in the picture).

What fascinates me about them is how someone gets to that point of doing that. I mean, I haven’t been in love I’ll be honest so obviously that’s a huge part of it and I fully understand the ones of remembrance if anything I find them insanely sweet. But the couples who put them on and throw their key away into the Mersey, hopefully one day I’ll be that in love with someone who I am able to do that without a second thought.

I admittedly love walking down the dock (especially with my camera) and just reading all the Love Locks DSC_1047that are there, there isn’t many, it is a new thing but every time I go back there’s a few more to read and they always make me feel reasonably happy.

It has apparently become a thing to do it in Liverpool and there is a sign up that states “This is a special place for lovers! Interlock your padlocks on the railings and throw away the key into the Mersey. You will never lose your true love!

Which I find to be quite wonderful.

R.J.

 

All photographs were taken by me.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

