Author Questions

 

 

Where are you from? I’m from Liverpool, UK.
Tell us your latest news? My next book Bon Voyage will be published on the 24th July!
When and why did you begin writing? When I was 13 and because one night I was bored and had a idea, so I got a A4 pad and a pen and I got writing.
When did you first consider yourself a writer? I guess, I first considered myself a writer when I began getting reviews on my FictionPress.
What inspired you to write your first book? My first book. I’m not sure I can’t fully remember, I know that school inspired me to write Choreorgraphy (my first published book)
Do you have a specific writing style? I write mostly from 1st person and it’s usually a very talkative narrative so the character most of the time addresses the reader, although I’ve been known to also write it without breaking the 4th wall.
How did you come up with the titles? My titles either come to me straight away or come to me a few days before publication. It’s either really easy (Superstar, Paperhouse, Choreography) or it’s really difficult (Twenty-Two Steps, The Asexual Equation)
Is there a message in your novels that you want readers to grasp? More times than not there is a message in my books – the majority of the time the message is feel good about yourself, don’t be ashamed to be you but other times there is other messages that hopefully my readers do grasp.
How much of the book is realistic? I really, really try and avoid making my books realistic, sometimes things sneak through and I’ve had a few people a few times recounting the event but I really try and stick to fiction.
Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? They can be. In my earlier writing I used to base characters on people but as I learnt more and got more creative all my characters are completely fictional.
What books have most influenced your life most? More recently, books like Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan, Geography Club by Brent Hartinger and Thinking Straight by Robin Reardon. But when I was younger I was hugely influenced by Jacqueline Wilson and Lucy Daniels.
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Tough, but Brent Hartinger, especially since I actually got the chance to work with him in The Real Story Safe Sex Project – which was very exciting.
What book are you reading now? How We Met by David Levitan. (But I have just finished The Art of Breathing by TJ Klune and that was amazing)
Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? I don’t know how new they are but T.J. Klune who’s new to me.
What are your current projects? Currently I’m working on Paperhouse, The Wedding Plan, Casey and The Asexual Equation.
Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. Pretty much all my friends – well ish.
Do you see writing as a career? Yes and No. I see writing as my hobby and my passion, I’d love to do it full time but am incapable to.
If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? In Gay Brigade: Callum and Noah? Possibly, it’s hard to say, all the Gay Brigade series are reasonably plotless but maybe adding a bit more filler.
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? No I must admit, I remember writing stories in everything, like my autograph book from Disneyland Paris, it just started I guess.
Can you share a little of your current work with us?
“I tell you that I like you too and would quite like to be your boyfriend although I have no clue on how it works or anything” I said and he looked at me
“Seriously” I said
“You have no clue” he said so I nodded
“None at all, I don’t know what the protocol is here, do I act with you as I’d act with my past girlfriends or is that wrong”
“You act with me, how you want to act with me” he said nodding ”
Okay” I said nodding then looked to my left seeing a side alley then hinting him down it, to the end then pulling him into me and kissing him “One of my dreams” I said so he nodded whilst brushing my hair behind my ears “To one day be able to kiss you without being afraid of everything around me”
Paperhouse

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Well I’m dyslexic so definitely grammar and punctuation, but I do think I’m improving (a little)
Who is your favourite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? My current favourite author is T.J. Klune and I just so happened to come across him by chance. I love his work because it’s so human, the things that happen and how the characters react to it are how real people would react and I love that.
Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? Not at all (unfortunately)
Who designed the covers? I design my own cover and create them too.
What was the hardest part of writing your book? Stopping. I know I need to stop at some point and have a break but sometimes I just can’t – especially when writing Paperhouse and The Asexual Equation.
Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?  A lot is two words (although I was sort of my friend) and that writing some darker subjects can be interesting and educational.
Do you have any advice for other writers? Keep going. I’m dyslexic and have published quite a number of books and have a running blog. It isn’t impossible never limit yourself.
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Please Keep Reading, every person who buys and reads my books means so much to me and I’d love to be able to go and meet these people one day!

R.J.

Questions from http://www.womensselfesteem.com/authorinterview.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

