New Adult Fiction

 

NA So in my website redesign I’ve realised that probably subconsciously I’ve began writing New Adult fiction.  For years now my target audience, my genre has been Young Adult and it has occurred to me that, that was probably because I myself was a YA now that the fact I’m turning 19 (On Saturday, yay) has made me a NA and subconsciously I’ve began writing New Adult fiction.

What is New Adult Fiction?
New Adult (NA) fiction is a developing genre of fiction with protagonists in the 18-25 age bracket. The term was first coined by St. Martin’s Press in 2009 when they held a special call for “…fiction similar to YA that can be published and marketed as adult—a sort of an ‘older YA’ or ‘new adult’

 New adult literature touches upon many themes and issues to reach the readership that falls in between the categories of young adult and adult fiction.

Many themes covered in young adult fiction such as identity, sexuality, depression, suicide, drug abuse, alcohol abuse, familial struggles, bullying are also covered in new adult fiction, but the various issues that are dealt with in the category hold it separate. Some common examples of issues include: first jobs, starting college, wedding engagements and marriage, starting new families, friendships post-high school, military enlistment, financial independence, living away from home for the first time, empowerment, loss of innocence, fear of failure, and so many others.

This category focuses heavily on life after an individual has become of legal age, and how one deals with the new beginnings of adulthood. Commonly, these themes and issues have been seen taking place post-high school in popular new adult fiction titles, but there are exceptions.

And as I’m beginning to experience these things so are my characters, so far I’ve wrote/am writing 6 NA books, 1 of which has been published Released, the others will be published between September 2014 – August 2015 and hopefully there will be more by then.

I’m fully aware that New Adult is a new thing to pretty much everyone, some people are seeing it as a marketing technique, some people think it’s not going to last, I personally feel it’s good for that weird age that I’m in right now, the age of not being old enough to be an adult but being too old to be considered a teenager or a child and having something particularly for our age range is reasonably nice.

All is Equal will be available in August 2015
On Tour will be available on October 6th 2014
Paperhouse will be available on September 19th 2014
Twenty-Two Steps will be available in December 2014
and Vloggers will be available in February 2015
You can find out more information about them here; http://rjseeley.wix.com/writer#!new-adult-/ccek

R.J.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

